• Overview
  • Lesson 1: The Evolution of Federal Cybersecurity [4:12]
  • Lesson 2: Introduction to the CDM Program [5:21]
  • Knowledge Check
  • Lesson 3: CDM Phase 1 [2:58]
  • Lesson 4: CDM Phase 2 [3:40]
  • Lesson 5: CDM Phase 3 [4:02]
  • Knowledge Check
  • Lesson 6: Implementing CDM at Your Agency [3:01]
  • Post-Course Survey

Please sign up for the course to view lesson content

Welcome to the GovLoop Academy course on Continuous Diagnostics and Mitigation, a Department of Homeland Security program that provides government agencies automated cybersecurity capabilities to defend against today’s advanced threats.


According to DHS, the CDM program helps to “identify cybersecurity risks on an ongoing basis, prioritize these risks based upon potential impacts, and enable cybersecurity personnel to mitigate the most significant problems first.”

In this course, we’ll explain how and why the CDM program was developed. We will dive into the three distinct phases of the program, and explain how they should be applied at your federal agency.

Steve Caimi, cybersecurity specialist with Cisco, will help explain key points about the program. Cisco delivers a comprehensive cybersecurity portfolio, world-class threat intelligence, a leading services organization.

To learn more about how Cisco can support CDM implementation, be sure to read these additional resources:

Thank you to Cisco for this public sector resource.